Marijuana laws have changed first-time offenses

Effective in 2017, possession of less than ten (10) grams of marijuana no longer carries a jail sentence. Some small amounts of marijuana are now classified as Class “D” misdemeanors which carries a maximum fine of $500. A conviction will still be a criminal conviction so it is not totally decriminalized.

Repeat offenses will remain Class “A” misdemeanors with a penalty of up to one (1) year in jail and a $2000 fine.

Prior to 2017, mere possession of 35 grams (one and one-fourth ounces) or less of marijuana was punishable by a year in jail.

Possession of more than 35 grams is still a felony.

It is strange, but you can be arrested for something that you cannot be sent to jail regarding an arrest for ten (10) grams or less. Hopefully, most police officers will not make a full custody arrest.

If you share a joint with another person you can be charged as distribution.

My good friend, Daniel K. Viets, of Columbia, assisted in making many of these changes. Given the popularity of marijuana, I reluctantly admit that these changes are a step in the right direction.

 

By | 2017-11-05T19:00:26+00:00 January 10th, 2017|Uncategorized|0 Comments

About the Author:

Dee Wampler

Dee Wampler has practiced law for 50 years has received many awards and honors. As Greene County’s youngest elected Prosecuting Attorney at the age of 29, Wampler’s reputation was quickly established as a leading trial attorney. Dee was an original organizer and first president Crimestoppers.

Wampler has published over 250 articles for Law Enforcement Journals, and authored six books: Missouri Criminal Law Handbook; The Trial of Christ; The Myth of Separation Between Church and State; Standing on the Front Line; Defending Yourself Against Cops in Missouri, and other Strange Places; and One Nation Under God. His knowledge of criminal law and trial tactics is widely recognized.

Leave A Comment